The 5 Stages of Healing

In Elizabeth Kubler-Ross’ information on death and dying, she reveals the stages a person goes through when they grieve. These five stages: Denial, Anger, Bartering, Sadness, and Acceptance, are also the same steps you go through whenever you let go of anything whether it’s a person, a place, an issue, or a belief.

Over time, as you gradually release all of that emotional energy you have been holding onto that doesn’t serve you anymore, you will go through these same steps.

For the purposes of emotional clearing, I refer to these stages as The Five Stages of Healing.

  1. Denial – “This can’t be happening. This is a joke, right? Right??!!”
  2. Anger – “It’s so wrong and bad and unfair that this is happening! Someone must be to blame!”
  3. Bargaining – “If I stop doing X or start to Y, will you make it stop happening?”
  4. Sadness and Grief – “My heart is breaking.”
  5. Acceptance and Surrender – “It happened.”

After a lifetime of suppressing emotions (because that’s what you were taught to do), it’s going to take time to clear them from your body and mind to find the peace you really want.

Be patient with your process. It’s different for everyone.

See your process of emotional healing as an adventure, and hold on for the ride of your life.

There will be highs and lows along your journey toward emotional mastery that will gradually level out over time.

The good times will  last longer and come more often, and the lows won’t last as long or come as often.

Eventually, the lows will be higher than the highs used to be, yet there will be a sense of balance and security as you come to trust the process, God and most of all yourself.

You can truly become a Master of your life.

And in the meantime, Live Your Passion!

With Joy and Appreciation, Maren Nelson